Best way for novice to learn

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by pokersotck, Oct 4, 2009.

1. Hello, this is my first post on the site and may turn out to be a long one. I have been interested in the markets for as long as I remember but I certainly do not pretend to know a thing about them. It is quite overwhelming at first and I really do not know where to even start.

Let me provide a bit of background to shed some light on why I believe that I could excel in the trading world. I graduated college in 04 with a bachelors in marketing, but in reality, I left college with a masters in poker. I have been a professional poker player for the last 5 years. I started out as most players do by depositing 50 dollars at a time and learning the ropes slowly over my 2nd and 3rd year of school. I began senior with 1k to my name and a lot of experience at the tables. I graduated in May with around 200k to my name and never looked back. I worked my way up to some of the highest limits in the world online playing against the very best players in the world (Phil Ivey, Antonius, Matasow, Flack, Hellmuth etc...). To date I have made over 2 million pretax playing poker and I used to play on a level where 5-6 figure daily swings were a regularity.

So it seems to me that trading and poker have very similar skill sets. The legal environment surrounding online poker is getting worse everyday and I want to have something to be able to fall back on in case it is no longer viable to play online poker from the US. So some of my basic questions are where do I start? Which market/markets are best to start out in? Do I concentrate on a specific market? What are some of the best books I could pick up? Are simulators useful? Do i just start trading with a very small amount of money to get my feet wet or do I just read and study for months until I become more comfortable?