Best Visual Basic Book to learn from

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by 707Gnome, Mar 26, 2008.

1. 707Gnome

707Gnome

Hi,

College student here interested in learning about visual basic. My excel skills are decent, and my VB skills are non-existent.

Could you guys please point me in the direction of VB books that start from the basics and build upwards? Ones that you recommend?

Much appreciated.

2. Dkm1

Dkm1

The book I started with was "VB for dummies". After that was "VB in 21 days".
    As an intro to Vb with some basic programming, both are excellent.

3. I am a good VB and VB script programmer that is self taught. However I didn't learn from any books really. What I did was I started small and identified what I wanted my program to do. Then I searched the internet for samples of how to do something similar and modified it to do what I wanted. I gradually increased my knowledge this way and now have written some very complex ASP (VB Script code) professionally for a couple of web sites, as well as some extensive database and Active Directory management tools for the company I work for. I also built a couple of .dll files. One that can perform one way hash encryption based on the governmental SHA-128 algorithm. The other one fills in missing math functions from VB such as converting Octal to Hexadecimal and Binary to Octal. For me personally I found it much easier to learn hands on by using examples to figure out how to do what I wanted than by simply reading a book.

EDIT: a really good reference site is <a href="http://www.devguru.com/">http://www.devguru.com/</a>. Pretty mush all of the functions in the VBScript section are exactly the same is the code for VB.

4. I have the same story, those are the 2 books I started out with.

The Dummies book starts from square one, gives you the basics.

I also agree you should have a project in mind so you can start implementing what you are reading about.