Best Version control system?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by bluematrix, Aug 4, 2012.

1. what is the best system to be used with microsoft technology - visual studio?

1. Subversion/SVN
    2. Git
    3. Mercurial
    4. Bazaar

edit: and what about Team Foundation Server ??

I appreciate serious input from your experience.

thanks

2. TFS, simply like that.

Your question has one big problem - you look at version control ONLY.

TFS gives you so much more fully integrated is not even funny - unit testing, work item tracking, integration with Sharepoint for documentation etc. and with the new 2012 version, out like any week now, even code reviews.

3. Have you used TFS extensively? how does its version control support compare to others (have you tried others?)

thanks

4. I do IT for a living for 20 years. Yes, I have used it extensively, as well as others. Right now with a customer I struggle using AcuRev and it's CRAPPY integration.

TFS is a Source control system that is centralized (good in my opinion - I want a central repository) and it does what it does well. Jsut it is not fair to use it as version control system. It does more - and the more make it dominating good. You do not have to use 4 or 5 different software packages, ONLY TFS. That is the main advantage.

Otherwise it has a good integration into Visual Studio. This is important if you compare it to the CRAP some others deliver in this place (AccuRev, for example) ;)

5. TFS is great if you use VS, only. I love subversion/SVN the most because you can pretty much version control anything, even run backups of folders completely unrelated to code in .Net. I am not claiming TFS cannot do that (I doubt it at this point) but it will surely be more complicated than simply right-clicking any folder, adding and committing it. Microsoft generally makes things a lot more complicated, maybe to make the people who earned their MVP designation worth more than the paper its printed on.