Best sources for advanced PA-based technical analysis?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by TraderGreg, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Hi. I am a novice trader who trades nearly entirely off PA and chart patterns.

However, after books, a few trading sites, and some experience, I still feel that there is much more I can learn from other sources (I just learned about the 2B, for instance, and I have not seen good enough sources on the butterfly to understand it).

Where can I find more advanced concepts of price action? Thanks for your help!

2. ATLien

ATLien

3. Smurfie

Smurfie

Hey Greg

Can you clarify what you mean by PA exactly? Over the years I've seen it mean widely different things.

Smurf

PS: Suri's book is pretty good, tis true.

4. Smurf,

What I refer to as PA in my trading is predominately chart patterns - mainly formations like triangles, channels, reversals, etc.

What does Suri's book offer that I won't see in a normal trading book? (This didn't really help that much, but I thought it was pretty funny http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNRuxUX1sNM )

Basically, I'm trying to accelerate my feel for the market by identifying patterns in prices that would otherwise take me a longer time to get a feel for.

I have a good knowledge of the basics, but really any quality works I feel will help (even possibly analysis on differing methods of drawing trendlines).

Book or online sources are fine. I have gone through maybe 3 or 4 books on chart patterns along with a few online such as investopedia, a few others, and only recently learned about the 2B here http://www.dacharts.com/setups.php

Thanks for the help!

5. Smurfie

Smurfie

Hey Greg

Then Suri's book is definitely for you. I suppose the others you read were the usual suspects (Edwards/JMcgee, Bulkowski, Schabacker). Graifer and Scumacher go into formations for individual stocks in "Techniques of tape reading."