Best short term liquid investments?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Steve Tvardek, May 14, 2006.

1. Hey guys,

I am starting to accumulate a little extra cash thats just sitting in my checking account doing nothing for me and was wondering what would be the best thing for me to do with these reserves (approx 50K that I'm willing to invest)?

I want something thats fairly liquid, short term (3mos-9mos type thing) and safe (like a CD or something).

I am really a novice when it comes to investing and dont know too much and would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

2. 3rd horse, 4th race Sunday afternoon at the Aquaduct. It's a lock, lay the 50 k down,, that is if you ain't yella.

3. Try Worldsavings Bank. Their rate varies from state to state. They have 5.51% for 5 or 7 months CD.

4. Bob111

Bob111

Hi Steve!
    if you in PA you can open acc in beneficial saving bank. they have 2.5% APR on regular checking and 5% for 5 month CD

https://www.beneficialsavings.com/RatesDepositProducts.asp

i personally prefer local banks with branches, where you can walk in.

you can also buy some corp. bonds, if you have IB account, but yields are not to shabby. around 5.5% for A+ and higher rated bonds.

5. Hi Steve,

Just as a thought, you are young and could probably withstand some higher risk/better return investments at this point. 5% seems too conservative. Why not start doing some research into alternative investment vehicles? I'm sure you could do 15-30% if you do some homework. You may fund the attached info useful.

Regards,

Mike

6. If you want liquidity and access, there are a bunch of good rates to be had with some simple homework. CD's are good, but have to lock up and with rates going up, maybe not a great place to stash your cash.

Think about breaking that money into segments. Maybe two chunks of 25K? (or whatever you feel comfortable with)