Best Prop Firms For A Beginner

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by saltycoot, Jun 7, 2009.

1. Hey I'm new to trading and i was wondering if anybody knew any good prop firms in the NYC area that I could join that I don't need to start with my own capital and are good at training traders?

2. dealmaker

dealmaker

Start with a prop firm that has free training and low comissions. 1 cent per share in prop world is exorbitant. NYC is loaded with prop firms, interview them; they all want your business.

3. JCBLESS

JCBLESS

Look into Hold Brothers,
    I have talked with Dave Flynn before super nice guy.
    His office is in 3) Elmsford, NY

Wish you all the best,

JC

4. Don't confuse an arcade for a prop firm.

Some firms exist to make commission dollars from you (those who offer 100% payout). = ARCADES aka leveraged retail account.

There are other firms who make their money from your positive P/L (offer payouts from 60% - 85%). = Legit PROP firms

5. i think you are just giving your definitions and not saying that a "legit prop" is going to necessarily be financially better for everyone?
    i mean, an experienced, highly profitable trader MAY be better off at an "arcade" where they get to keep all of their earnings. i say "may" because it would depend on the type of trading practiced, i.e. daily volume, the commish paid, vig on overnights, etc.

for the OP, here is a list of props to check out...
    http://www.tradersnarrative.com/list-of-proprietary-trading-firms-735.html

good luck

6. I totally agree with you. EXPERIENCED and profitable guys may be better off at an arcade.

The title of this thread is for beginners. The best place for beginners is where they have no financial risk.