Best Prop Firm For Leverage

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by bwilliams5534, Mar 18, 2009.

1. Hi Guys,

I have been a fairly successful retail trader since I started about a year and a half ago. I have grown a modest account size($80,000 from $18,000) and I am quite sure that I have a small edge but am seeking some larger payouts through higher leverage. I am a swing-trader and may trade as little as 3 days a month. I mainly use options synthetically on hard to borrow securities (I am not sure how this would be looked at at a prop firm, since I am technically holding stock positions but I am really using options to hold these positions.

I am not seeking training, a spot to trade at with others or any large up front fees that I have to pay for no reason. I simply want more capital to trade with(and still be able to use the trading strategies that are currently working for me). Is there a prop firm out there that would work well for me, or is a prop firm the wrong way to go and I should look at some other way to add capital to my account? If so what other ways are out there.

Thanks.

2. Don't know where you are from, but my guess is that if you show them your P&L and are willing to accept splitting a significant portion of your profits with them you may find someone to back you. Traditional Prop firms are much shorter term traders than you are, however, so that may be a problem. Don't know if firms will be willing to expose their capital to so much time sensitive risk when their high frequency strategies are profitable and require significantly less market exposure on a relative time basis. Maybe in addition to prop firms you should seek out successful individual traders who have a similar risk profile and would be willing to back another trader with a proven strategy. good luck!

3. Thanks for the reply.