Best Programming Language

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Masterchanger, Jun 12, 2009.

1. Hello All,
    I'm a beginning EL coder without a formal programming background. I can create basic indicators and systems but when I look at more complicated code I have alot of difficulty figureing out what the code is actually doing.

I know that EL has alot of capability, I just feel a basic programming background would be very helpful in getting the most out of EL.

What programming language(s) would be recommended to learn good programming habits and provide a more structured programming approach that would serve me well in my EL programming tasks/DLL utilization/creation and should I move on to another platform serve me well in the future. eg. Java, C++, C#,VBA ????????

Please elaborate on why you recommend a particular language.

thanks for your input

2. hands down C++

3. I'm a C# programmer.

But I'd say Python if you are from EasyLanguage.

I picked C# because I was trying to use TT's API and they only had .NET, Java and C++ APIs at the time. I didn't know much about programming at that time and didn't know that I could use Python on their C++ API. Java was too hard for me because the coding required Exceptions for each method.

And... their .NET example seemed easy to understand. By the time I could deal with all 3 languages, I've written do much shit with C#.NET

4. nsideus

nsideus

C++ is definately the most widely used and offers the most flexibility, but since you have no formal programming background it is going to be the most difficult to learn.

Java and C# are basically on the same level, but of the two I'd pick Java over C# because it's more widely used.

VBA would be the easiest to learn, but any real programmer would laugh at you for using it. You're not going to "learn good programming habits" by using VBA. But if you want simplicity for a non-programmer, then choose VBA.

5. MGB

MGB

hands down C#

6. MTRIG

MTRIG