Best practices?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by ScoobyStoo, Feb 24, 2010.

1. I am currently building a fully automated futures algo trading system from the ground up and would appreciate the input of any others that have done the same thing.

I have 10+ years professional coding experience and have architected complex business applications before. However, at the moment I am working on the order management module and running into a few design headaches relating the asynchronous nature of interfacing with the market. I always knew this part of the project would be the hardest due to the formidable number of scenarios that must be handled arising from the decoupled nature of the beast. I won't go into examples here as any of you that code trading systems at this level will know exactly what I mean.

Are there any books/white papers in the public domain which address the best practices for handling these architectural decisions? I want to make sure I get the core design correct the first time round.

Many thanks as always...

2. What about looking at some of the open source projects such as TradeLink or Marketcetera for some ideas/concepts?

Have you tried that? It would seem that may help you out a lot more.

Eric

3. Thanks Eric.

I spent a few days looking at both the TradeLink and Marketcetera codebases before Christmas.

To be honest, I really wasn't impressed with the quality of what I saw in the TradeLink codebase. The structure of some of the code is messy to say the least, the design approach seems to chop around a lot and the documentation/commenting is lamentable. The concept of handling rejections relating to order placement/modification/cancellation doesn't seem to be addressed at all. I could well be wrong but from my brief foray it seems to suffer from all the foibles typical of open source projects. A fairly amateur affair and not worth the time to investigate further...