Best option strategy for a stock expected to double

Discussion in 'Options' started by cunparis, Oct 29, 2008.

1. I have a few stocks that I expect to double in price and I'm curious about the best options strategy to take advantage of this.

I would just buy the stocks in question but my funds are limited so I'd like to profit from leverage.

Should I do an outright call? Let's take a specific example: AUY. If I buy a call, what expiration month? What strike price?

I've read about straddles, I'm not concerned about AUY going down although I understand adding a put to the call would give me insurance against it.

How would you trade it? I'm familiar with the basic strategies (I'm really new at this and haven't traded an option before) but I'm not sure how to apply them. Which strategy, and how to determine the strike price, etc.

Any help is gratefully appreciated.

2. Do you have to decide right away?

Do you have time to learn about options and how they work before placing money on the line?

It's a bad idea to trade options when you really do not understand the most basic concepts.

Sure you can buy calls. But in this environment, most calls carry a very high premium. you may be correct that the stock will rise, but if it doesn't rise enough you may lose your entire investment. Are you prepared for that?

It really pays to learn first, trade later.

Which option to buy? There is no answer. Do you expect the stock to double very soon? Or in one year? The expiration month you choose is vital to your success or failure. No one can pick a month for you.

Are you willing to go 'all in' on your expectation? Are you willing to lose it all if the stock rises, but only by 50% The strike price you choose is crucial. How can anyone tell you what play YOU want to make.

Ordinarily, I'd say but in the money calls, so you pay little time premium, but you have too little cash.

Gambling a small account on an options play is just foolish, but it is your money.