Best option strategies to learn ....

Discussion in 'Options' started by tradingpoker, Jan 5, 2020.

1. New to all of this but with my poker back ground and my hard work I feel like I can learn things pretty fast and have a slight head start over complete newbies to this world.

I can see there many different option strategies, it's actually a bit overwhelming tbh as there are so many. Which ones would the seasoned pros here advise I focus on?

Of course I could learn them all over time, but maybe only to be told I am wasting my time!?

Also is there a guideline, maybe a link or book that tells you which strategy is best for which environment? Even once I learn many strategies I then need to know at which time would each one be best used, again I have no clue right now. So some guidelines/links would help a ton.

Thank you for your time and any help.

2. destriero

destriero

There is no conditional probability in trading. I played a lot of HS PLO but I never saw the analog to trading, let alone vol-trading.

You’re either short or long gamma. There is no inherent edge in structures for most traders.

3. drcruz

drcruz

You have to determine what trading style you want to adapt
    - Death by a thousand cuts - traditional trend and swing trading -or-
    - Picking up pennies in front of a steam roller

I pick up pennies in front of steam rollers and it been a journey of more than a couple of years. Reason being is you have to get used to adjusting short option positions when the market moves against you. I learned short premium trading from Tastytrade and Option Alpha. And after you get down the basics there are some really good places to learn more advanced stuff. In the short option route you have to worry about vega and gamma, theta is your friend

If you want to swing or trend trade you may want to master that first before jumping into options, because with the more traditional route you have to worry about theta, but vega and gamma are your friends