Best Job to Have While Saving Capital, Learning

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tomski, Apr 15, 2008.

1. tomski

tomski

The Background:

I graduated from college last Aug. (midwestern Big 12 school) w/ a degree with majors in finance and accounting and a minor in stat. Had an internship w/ a top 5 bank in NYC for a lady who manages high net worth clients ($1MM+, trades mainly commodities, indexes, and a bit of forex). Got a job out of school (worked my butt off getting it) as an analyst at a massive fund manager in midtown manhattan. Worked there for a little while and learned that I hated what I was doing. It was good money, good benefits, good career track . . . but I was so bored I wanted to shoot myself in the head. Looking at it in retrospect, I took the job mainly because of prestige, not because it's something I want to do.

After a while I quit and made up ways to make money. NYC living wasn't cheap. I sold unlocked iPhones, did all types of freelance programming (my second passion), and a few other ideas I came up with. Was able to match what I was making at my job so quitting wasn't too bad. But this time I was way out of my desire to have a career in finance.

Throughout college I have been learning to be a futures trader. I have traded the ES and YM off and on and have a pretty decent collection of books I've read through. Now-a-days I mainly trade options on equity in an account my dad lets me play with. I dont' have much capital because I pumped what I had into paying off a big chunk of my student loans. I still have some of that to pay off and it's and issue for me.

I recently moved to Chicago thinking it might be a better place to work w/ derivatives but I can move back to NYC (or elsewhere) w/o too much trouble if I find something that puts me on a better track.

The Situation: