Best indicator and time frame to use?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by chifai2, Sep 9, 2006.

1. chifai2

chifai2

I am new to daytrading, what is the best indicator(s) and time frame to use? (also any supporting software recommended ?)

2. chi - I guess I will start this off by saying this is no perfect indicator and/or timeframe. Part of your learning experience / tuition is going to be finding what works for you.

Keep in mind that all indicators are lagging....

Good luck!

3. chifai2

chifai2

So, if indicator is lagging and not recommended, then, there is just - Price. How do you trade based on price? Momentum?

Please help...!:) I really want to learn from a successful daytrader--PLEASE ??

4. chi - take some time and go thru these forums. I am not saying that indicator(s) are bad, but they are not a solve all. Expect them to fail. It's not going to hurt to learn 2-3 and then learn them inside and out. Popular ones appears to be Stochastics, MACD, RSI... among many others.

Some guys have 20 indicators on their screen and analyze that way. Personally that is way too much for me and would rather know a couple things inside and out vs. kind of knowing 20.

And you have traders that simply analyze price and the current action, tape readers, etc. Those guys are around here too.

If you want to use this forum properly, you are going to have to spend many hours reading the posts that are already here. Most of your questions have been asked, you just need to find them. It's overwhelming at first, but now that I have been here a little while myself, it never fails to see the 'I am new help!' threads that just ignored b/c we see them weekly.

5. dan05

dan05

Hi Chi,

I use to trade using three time frames, 13 min, 7 min and 3 min.

Traded in the 7 min, in the trend defined by the 13 min, 50CCI.

I then found the only indicator that is not laging as far as I know. It is provided by www.tradingpro.com.