best chart interval for daytraders

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by arzoo, Aug 16, 2002.

1. arzoo

arzoo

I'm still a newbie at daytrading and have been using 15 min intervals. I'm wondering, though, what do you more experienced guys use, and which one you feel is more effective.

2. mpow

mpow

5 min

3. alain

alain

depends what you are trading, depends on your trading style, depends on your risk tolerance, depends on the liquidity... very individual. I always backtest certain patterns that are part of my trading method and then I compare the results of the different time frames. Then I know with a higher problability in which timeframe my trading is more effective. But I do this only once a month...

4. Any successful trader that's actually making a living will tell you this...

there is NO BEST chart interval for daytrading...NONE.

With that said...it's absolutely critical your using multiple chart intervals with such charts side by side on your computer screen.

Why?...the strongest or high probability daytrading trade setups (trends...if your not a scalper) will have confirmation on different chart intervals.

In other words, if your not a scalper and you get a Short signal confirmation on the 1min chart but it's still a Long signal on the 3min chart and you make a trade via the 1min chart only...you've already reduced the odds for a successful trade.

Remember this...trading is about probabilities. You only want to take trade setups that have the highest probability for profits or follow thru...often called cherry picking.

Thus, in my opinion and experience...the most profitable trade setups have multiple chart interval confirmation.

Me personally...my favorite (not best) chart interval is the 1min chart for my trading style.

Next to that chart on my computer screen is the 3min chart. Some setups are via the 3min chart and some are via the 1min chart...yet, both must be confirming the trade setup.