Best Bullish Options Strategy: Buy Calls, Sell Puts, or Other?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Kensho, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Kensho

Kensho

Buying Calls:

It seems that a long call option suffers two headwinds: theta decay + volatility decrease. Of these two headwinds I think volatility decrease concerns me most since the best buying opportunities are when IV is highest.

Selling Puts:

With selling puts theta decay + volatility decrease is a tailwind but risk is unlimited.

Bull Put Spread:

Sure you can limit the risk of selling puts by buying a further OTM put but then the profit is really small compared to the risk. If you have to sell 5 bull put spreads just to collect enough premium as one naked put then IMO aren't the two strategies just as risky?

I'm a newbie trying to learn.

2. Risk is limited to zero, not so with calls.

There are tons of eq overlays on the inst. side doing short puts. There is nothing wrong with a pure portfolio of naked ATM (30-50D) short gamma. Don't leverage beyond RegT margin (50%) and limit it to stocks you wouldn't mind owning for a year or two.

Sell 2* upside in OTM (20-30D) calls if you get assigned shares. You're then short the upside synth straddle. You can always convert to a delimited position by buying deep wings (synth fly).

There is a ton of flexibility in what you can do once assigned, provided that you're not blown out on shares from the outset. Don't trade biotech, micro, etc. Best to limit it to blues and big-cap tech like AAPL, GOOG and PCLN (careful there).

The Jan3 AAPL 530P are 2.44 mid and 12 cents NBBO. $10k per under RegT to short one. 2.4% return and 5% OTM. If the shares rally then you get even more aggressive on the next roll. Go ten days to two weeks out each time.