Best Bang for Buck; KMP

Discussion in 'Options' started by El Guapo, Nov 5, 2008.

1. KINDER MORGAN ENERGY (NYSE: KMP)

Its going to drop like a rock...soon...could be real soon...(I'm not going to discuss why I believe this)

In your professional opinion, what would be the best Bang for the Buck Option Strategy?

Buy PUTS? Which Strike?
    Yep, I'm an Option Noob.

I know I could short it, but I believe there is more bang with an option strat.

Many Thanks

2. IMHO it all depends on your targets. How far do you think it will fall and over what time frame?

If you are not sure it will fall much, use ATM or a little bit ITM. These have higher delta and, of course, higher probability of being ITM.

If you think it will fall a lot, like 10-20%, buy puts 10% or so OTM. They shouldn't cost much, unless volatility is already pumped way up. There are also tons of spreads with wide ranges you could do too, but the simplest trade is just some puts.

No matter what, I'd put in GTC orders to take profits after you put the trades on. At least, this always works better for me. The tendency is to get too scared or greedy and miss out. GTC profit target orders take care of that without having to watch your screen all the time.

3. Thank you!

I believe a drop of >20% is in order.

4. You could also "ladder" some strikes down. Like 5%, 10%, 20% (if there are strikes that low). That way you are bound to hit some and they will help pay for the others. Just make sure to put in the sell orders (and stop loss orders might be a good idea too). Don't get (too) greedy!

5. MTE

MTE

I agree with Wayne.

If you think the stock will drop to about 40 within the next 16 days then the Nov 45 puts at 0.10 bid-0.20 ask are a good play as those would go to about 5, which would be a nice return.

6. jr07

jr07

I am long this stock

what is the source of your info and when is the drop expected?

J

7. El Guapo,