Beliefs

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by OHLC, Sep 25, 2002.

1. OHLC

OHLC

Quick question :
    What are the beliefs of 'top traders' ?

I'm about sure there is no quick answer though...

OHLC

2. all you need to do is take a Tony Robbins course, think positive and you will become a brilliant trader. If you fail as a trader it is because you are stupid or a negative thinker. :)

3. OHLC

OHLC

Hello ./futures,

I'm not a failed trader, I think I am a decent position trader.
    But I have(mandatory) to switch to daytrading soon and I know I am held down by some issues.
    So instead of focusing on what is wrong or not ok with me, I thought it would be faster to ask what I should be looking at :)

OHLC

4. A Tony Robbins course isn't the answer.

A better statement would be if you fail as a trader you didn't do what other successful traders have done. That is all it takes.

Problem is a person forms beliefs about tradiing. The market can prove their beliefs to be wrong but to change a belief isn't an easy thing to do.

Robert

5. Well that statement right there depends a large part on the individuals themselves. It is not hard for all traders to change a belief, because some don't hold any as absolute...

Some have a belief structure set-up in which they can entertain a thought, concept, idea, belief, or "truth" -- without ever becoming attached to it. They hold nothing as absolute. Their minds and their "beliefs" are extremely fluid. The one thing they know for sure is that they know not one thing for sure. This perceived "weakness" in their belief structure is ironically the one thing that gives them the mental agility to quickly respond and adapt -- or simply put what gives them the strength to overcome what is hard and indomitable ------> the market...

I believe some trader by the name of George Soros has actually built an entire career on this very principle----reflexitivity and fallibility.