Being destitute in America is a crime?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by leela, Oct 6, 2009.

1. leela

leela

2. Interesting read. I think it's time we start asking how the average American can fix this mess. How could the middle and poor class come together to solve the problems in America? Eventually something has got to happen.

3. logikos

logikos

Isn't it curious that the top 3 meanest cities are among the most liberal? And conservatives are slammed for not being "compassionate"?

4. You know that's an interesting story. I do feel for them, truly. And unlike most on this forum I am a former social worker.

Now let me give you another perspective. When I was going to college in Santa Cruz, it was known for being extremely tolerant off everything, including homeless people. There were so many bums sunning themselves at the park you couldn't even go there without being accosted by bums. The city finally passed an aggressive panhandling law when I was graduating because they would camp out on business store fronts and harass would be customers until ppl. just stopped going there.

Fast forward to last year. I went to downtown Denver to take my Mom to the art museum. The park across the street was just overrun with homeless. Not one non homeless person ventured in there, 1 lady and her small child tried to take a short cut through but they immediately harassed and took the long route. 1 homeless schizophrenic almost ran my Mom down, he didn't even see her, and she was only 10 feet in front of me.

It's our taxes that pay for this park and we can't use it.

The mayor of Denver is considering spending 100k per bum to house them Philly style. 100k ! You could live quite well in my nice county. But alas you need social workers and admin to administer these programs because they can't be trusted with the money, most of them anyway.