Beginning Swing Trader needs source of fundamental data for nightly screens

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by FanOfFridays, Apr 24, 2002.

1. Hello

As a beginning swing/position trader, I want to try to generate higher probability trades by screening stocks using fundamental data - i.e. stocks trading at new highs with relative strength and earnings in the top 15% for the sector, or stocks with P/E ratios which have recently dropped below 90% of the stocks in their sector. Can anyone tell me which if any of the feeds discussed on these boards will provide me with this data and which software might be configured for these types of screens? If not, can anyone suggest a good source for such information? Thanks, Nik

2. chuv

chuv

Nik,

I use Quote.com ( http://www.quote.com ) feed and Stock Watch Pro ( http://www.crontech.com/swp ) for scanning. From my experience Quote.com is the most comprehensive feed out there for it's price and Stock Watch Pro is a very powerful scanning tool that allows to create any type of formulas/strategies.

Hope that helps...

3. Hi Nik,

What kind of time frame are you looking to operate in? If you are planning to do scans every night, you might consider screening for technical criteria instead of fundamental. Some people feel that you are apt to get a better snap shot of short-term market/stock conditions.

If fundamental criteria is your thing, wouldn't a basic news service suffice?

4. Sorry, I meant to say that wouldn't a news service in conjunction with your broker provided info meet your needs?

Best of luck

5. Lightningsmurf and others

Thanks a lot for the replies...