Beginning Day Trader - Where do I start?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by MGochuico, Oct 30, 2001.

1. MGochuico

MGochuico

I have no experience as a day trader but I trade regularly with E*trade. I am making a career change to become a day trader but I do not know where to start and what tools to use. Is E*trade a good place for beginning day traders? Your help is valuable and very much appreciated. thank you.

2. I drive my car pretty good. I havent ever been in a race before but I'm thinking about entering the Daytona 500. What do you think of my chances?

3. My advice: get several books on day trading. read them but realize half is bs. check out web sites with info for daytraders, like www.mtrader.com, www.daytradingstocks.com, www.hardrightedge.com. read this site every day, particularly hitman's journal as he is top pro daytrader.

you cannot daytrade with etrade. too slow and unreliable. get an account with a direct access broker. papertrade for several weeks. keep records of how you do. decide if it's for you. if it is , start trading with very small size, ie 100 shares of low priced stock, no matter how much money you have. understand you will not make money most likely for months. 90% fail at this.

4. ChrisRT

ChrisRT

Before you even start, I'd recommend two books:

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator - will teach you about the realism of the market.

Trading in the Zone by Douglas- will help to find a mindset that is proper for traders.

As for tools, styles, setups, or whatever, everyone will have a different opinion on what is best and I'll leave that to other posters and it usually is an endless debate.

I guess main point: Don't just jump right in. Do a little observation first of your current perceptions of the market and how it differs from what the market reality is. Each day we uncover something new about the market that preconceived ideas have hidden from our view. The market is easily the best mirror of ourselves on any given day.