Beginners

Discussion in 'Forex' started by lymanem, Jun 11, 2012.

1. lymanem

lymanem

Are there any Forex Daytrader beginners in this group?
    Thanks

2. Nubee

Nubee

New to trading, interested in Forex, Studied quite a bit to this point...

Initially focusing on Swing / Position trading to get a feel for its characteristics, Not planning to Day trade it per se

3. yeah, I'm a beginner. I never start out with the idea of daytrading, but in forex some of these big moves occur in less than 5 minutes, and then you are almost forced to be a daytrader. Other times I wait weeks holding for the move, which again can occur in a matter of minutes.

4. new as well..who charges the least to trade forex

5. they are all about the same. Market Makers charge no commissions and make their money from the spread.

ECN's charge a commission, but the spreads may be more consistent

I use interactivebrokers, they charge about $2.50 per 100k

interest is also a consideration, you pay interest on the currencies you borrow to trade, some pay you if the carry is positive

my broker is not the cheapest, but I prefer them overall

6. thanks oldtime

7. I've been trading a longtime, but I just started trading forex about a year ago. I immediately liked it because everything was new, and I didn't have any preconceived ideas about anything. The more opinionated I become the smaller my profits have become.

Like right now, everybody is trying to guess about the future of the Euro.

CHF is committed to pegging at 1.20. Will the peg hold if they trash the Euro?

Never know when JPY will intervene

and what about USD? Everybody wants it to go down, but be strong

It's an exciting market and there is an opportunity everyday no matter how small you are

there are probably more small forex retail traders worldwide than there are small stock traders, but that also gives rise to many, many more unscrupulous forex brokers.