Beginners question

Discussion in 'Trading' started by StevieP, Apr 16, 2009.

1. StevieP

StevieP

Since I am new to trading I would appreciate feedback based on your experiences.

When beginning day trading which strategy would be better for me to first employ?

Assuming I make a correct entry which would I be better off doing?

1) leaving my early profits exposed even if retracting, in hopes that the overall trend will bring bigger profits?

2) Just take the smaller quick profit if they come, even though I might miss out on greater profits?

I have read so many times let your winners run, but I don't trust that with my lack of experience I will be able to tell correctly if bigger profits will come and will end up just watching my gains turn into losses.

Thank you in advance for your answers

2. You need to develop your own strategy, one that suits your personality.

If you read about a strategy online or in a book, chances are it no longer works.

In terms of taking profits as a day trader, it depends on the range and volatility on that particular session. If the mkt is choppy/sideways, take smaller profits. If mkt is trending in one direction, try to hold for a larger gain. In all honesty though, the mkt rarely just trends all day. I prefer to take smaller gains with bigger positions.

3. piezoe

piezoe