Beginner trying to program

Discussion in 'App Development' started by Robby Luca, May 30, 2017.

1. I never programmed before, but I am interesting in getting started. The thing is, I have no idea where to start! Being a beginner at this is an understatement. I know I am able to teach myself how to code, but I just want to know in which direction to lean towards.

To begin, is a semi-automated trading system something that can only be used for backtesting? rather than compeltely automated, which means it can be used live? If that's correct then I don't mind only having a semi-automated trading system for the time being.

Secondly, what are the tools required? Free preferably, since I am just learning and practicing. I heard that excel can be used, or maybe there's a simpler software that can be used. Is there a way to backtest for free?

2. algofy

algofy

learning to code is a great thing. If your trading career doesn't work, you have a new career to fall back on in programming. I think you're going to have a hard time using a semi automated trading system for backtesting, you really need fully automated in order to backtest. Udemy has almost free courses to learn programming ($10 a course if you catch it on sale).

Sierra Chart and their ACSIL language (based on C++) I think is a decent place to start. Python seems fairly popular but for what I trade I just don't see any frontends that use it so I'm normally stuck with C++ or C#.

Robby Luca likes this.
  3. kmiklas

kmiklas

Heya Robby,

Welcome! Who is your broker?

Reason I ask is that broker Application Programming Interface (API) vary by broker. Some are much better suited to programming than others.

Also, where are you getting your market data, both "real-time" and historical?

Last edited: May 30, 2017
  4. JackRab

JackRab

@algofy, I have been looking at the Udemy programming courses... do you know of one that kinda stands out? There are so many, it's like the tree in the forest that I can't see.....