Beginner over here

Discussion in 'Trading' started by RedMirrorBall, May 19, 2002.

1. I am fairly new to the day trading world.
    I have mainly been playing penny stocks.

I was just wondering what kind of plays other people have been making, or maybe what is a good play for a newbie like myself

Thanks,

Red

2. trdrmac

trdrmac

Perhaps the best question to start with is are you making money trading the penny stocks? If so then why change?

What to consider is the risks involved with penny stocks.

First they are like a girl you take home from the bar, she may be with you that night but gone in the morning.

The second is liquidity. Often times people will scoop up a million or so shares, run the stock up and dump it on the (m)asses and let it fall. Or if liquidity dries up then you will pay a huge spread to get out if you need to get out quickly.

Finally, pennies should be the last part of a major move in stocks. So if gold stocks are hot the big mines move first, the second is the medium and finally the junk. So don't get caught in the tail end of a move holding too much long.

Other than that, you have to a method that you are comfortable with that makes you money. Keep your commission costs down and focus on being profitable. And trade small. I would not put any more than 10% and preferably 5% of my money in any one idea. (except a basket like spy or qqq which is diversified).

3. I thought that was the goal.:D

4. trdrmac

trdrmac

:D

Gone is ok, it is when the wallet goes with them that can get a guy jumpy.

5. Thanks for your reply trdrmac.

I realize the risk of penny stocks. It's just that I don't see any other strategies that can make any money without starting out with lots of money. With penny stocks I can get a 10% gain very quickly.

I am rambling.

I guess the question is what is a good strategy with very low risk?

6. trdrmac

trdrmac

There is NO low risk strategy for trading stocks PERIOD.