Beginner Options Question

Discussion in 'Options' started by tmmaloney1, Mar 27, 2013.

1. Hi all,
    I'd appreciate anyone's comments on my question.

I'm a beginning options trader; meaning I've been using CBOE.com's virtual trade for about 8 months to get used to trading options. In the virtual world I've done well; I'm up about 50% since I started Typically, I only trade SPY options, and have found the most success with this.

The question is: if for example I am long a call option, do I need enough reserve capital in my account to actually exercise the option, and purchase the underlying? (Whether it be margin buying power or actual cash) I'm not interested in exercising options, I am just interested in being long calls and puts for short term positions.

I assume that if my trade goes wrong I can just let the option expire worthless, and not purchase the underlying.

Another way to put it would be: If I buy $10,000 worth of SPY call options, I would need a great deal more than $10,000 to actually purchase the underlying, and I don't have it.

Any advice is appreciated,

lawrence-lugar likes this.
  2. Twinsen

Twinsen

You do not need to have enough cash to maintain long positions. But if you want them keep to expire worthless, for safety reasons, instruct your broker not to exercise them if they happen to appear in the money.
    If you do not have enough cash to hold a stock and you are exercised or assigned, your broker will close the position on the next trading day market open. But if, before the market opens, stock goes against you, you will lose money!

3. newwurldmn

newwurldmn

Instead of letting the option expire (and be subject to auto exercise) sell the option before hand. On expiry day you will get at least intrinsic value.

Broker won't exercise unless option expired in the money.

4. Thanks for the help with that; that is what I thought but I read a post on here that sounded strange to me.