Beginner option question

Discussion in 'Options' started by series 7, Jul 16, 2006.

1. series 7

series 7

I'm new to stock options and am trying to see if i have this strategy right.

DNA is trading at 80.00

I think DNA will raise to 85.00

I buy a Aug 80 call for 2.65

I sell a Aug 85 call for 0.95

DNA's price raises to 85.00

I exercise both options (can i do this whenever i want ? )

I buy 100 shares for 80.00, I sell 100 shares for 85.00 for a profit of + 500.00.

i subtract the 170.00 paid for the options from the 500.00 profit for a net profit of +330.00 (minus comm and fees)

The max risk for this stratagy is -170.00 and the max profit from this stratagy is +330.00. Is this correct ?

Thanks for any help

2. You're pretty far off on many accounts.

1) You cannot "exercise" a sold option. Only the person who bought it from you can, and he can do it whenever he feels like it.

2) The profit you describe occurs only if DNA rises to 85 or above and stays there *at* August expiration. If it happens sooner or later than that, you will make much less.

3) If DNA rises to 85 tomorrow, your short calls will be pretty substantial losers (overcome by your 80 calls, but not by much).

4) If DNA parks at 80, you will lose the premium you paid entirely.

In short, if you think it will rise to 85 at August expiration (or BLOW through it before then), then your thinking is correct (aside from #1 above). If you think it will rise to 85 tomorrow, your computations are way off.

3. series 7

series 7

thanks

4. Yes, you are corrent in your analysis, but only on option expiration, and u can't ex. the sold option. option exercise is the exception rather than the rule. It occurs frequently when stocks trade ex-div but rarely elsewhere. Think about it this way, if there is time value remaining on the option, you just gave away free money to the mm's and contributed to their kids college fund.:)