beginner help: trees or forest

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by gaidaros, Mar 9, 2007.

1. gaidaros

gaidaros

dear people,

i am fairly new to trading and have managed to stay alive just due to good money management. just when i think i have figured it out, the market decides to change (which I think that puts me right in the 'sheep for sloughter' situation). Being a professional in another discipline where also skills are involved in order to survive, i realize that it will take some time before I develop the skills to survive in this arena.

Despite the various newbie threads, which I searched for help in my journey,I would like to ask for some advice:

1. how long does it take to overcome the greed/fear syndrome - i still have it for 3-4 months now. do i need winning trades or is it just a matter of changing my philosophy?

2. any good advice on articles/books on statistical distributions and nonlinear models (i think I have figured out how market profile works/ big players moving the price from one distribution to another and day traders competing against each other within the distribution).

3. it would be very welcome to find some reading material on defining the relationship between time frames and their intersection points.

4. realizing that the market is quite often random, how do you calculate probability in order to define bet size? wait for divergence signals, support resistance etc?

thanks for anyone willing to shed some light on these issues, even a vague hint towards the direction I should futher investigate.

gaidaros (donkey in greek)

2. It takes more like 3-4 years. I don't use Market Profile. Don't dismiss E-Waves. Randomness of the Market can only be mitigated by experience..

3. ========================
    GS;
    [3]Amoung the best on non random multiple time frames;
    Market Makers Edge,
    Book By Joshua Lukeman. Note his multi month charts: also cool:

4. Just yakking here,