Beginner Futures Trader (HELP)

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by fundmanager00, Jun 4, 2004.

1. Hello everyone, I am new to the board. Please forgive me if some of these questions sound basic.

I am just wondering about different ways to trade the ES (S&P E-MINI)

If I were to day trade the ES what kind of indicators should I use?

If I want to swing trade the bigger trend of the ES what Indicators should I use?

What are some tips that you have for people that are starting out trading the ES?

I am trying to build a system for either day or swing trading and would like some suggestiosn to get started.

I understand that it is important to use tight stops while daytrading but how do you decide on your stop loss. Some say that you should pick an amount that you feel comfortable losing on each trading and set your stop loss to that amount. Any suggestions?

I am just getting started and would love to have as much help as I can get.

Thanks again

Also, if you can share some stories about how you got started in futures trading that would be wonderful

2. made a killing the first few weeks then got massacred and lost the killing and some in two days. :p

3. Thanks for your reply,
    In regard to your post, I heard that could happen when you start trading the futures market. You win and then you lose more.

Just a quick question: Did you use stop loss orders? Are you a swing trader or day trader?

What type of markets do you trade in?

thanks again for your reply

4. dbphoenix

dbphoenix

Forget about indicators and learn how to interpret price and volume. Anything that's calculated takes your eye off the ball.

5. TigerO

TigerO

Absolutely.