Beginner..All advice welcome

Discussion in 'Options' started by destined4, Jul 13, 2013.

1. destined4

destined4

Hi, I'm very new to option trading and I would like to learn as much as possible. Any and all advice is welcome.

2. fk1028

fk1028

There is only ONE rule - the $$ you allocate in that MUST BE disposable $$. Assume you lose it all (a good chance you will) and it won't hurt you a lot.

3. CBC

CBC

Yea just to add, start off with small amounts of money ok. I've been trading options for a while no when I start some new strategy I always use loose change. Glad I did caus I would av lost a lot than what I did. :D

4. Two pieces of advice. First, read as much as you can. I recommend:

Options as a Strategic Investment - McMillan (I would start with this and Natenberg)
    Option Volatility and Pricing - Natenberg
    Options Trading: The Hidden Reality - Cottle (my all-time favorite)
    Option Market Making - Baird
    Volatility Trading - Sinclair
    Option Trading - Sinclair (another good book to start with)
    Dynamic Hedging - Taleb
    Options, Futures and Other Derivatives - Hull

Second, fund a very small live account and start making trades as you learn about the strategies. You will learn a lot by watching how the positions behave in the market.

5. trader46

trader46

Many of those choices are (for the most part) irrelevant or going to bore the OP to death, or possible be over their head unless they are heavily interested in statistics or advanced mathematics/modelling..

OP: try "Rookies guide to options" by Mark Wolfinger. His website has posts going back to 2008 as well: mdwoptions.com
    Also check out free webinars at CBOE.com

Paper trading comes *after* you understand how volatility affects price and what the heck time decay is doing to your call a week from expiration and can track everything on a P&L chart :) Good luck