Becoming an independent trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by sdd80, Jan 28, 2012.

1. sdd80

sdd80

Dear all - I appreciate all feedback and suggestions on my questions and thoughts. Apologies in advance for the long post - just thought it useful to summarize my full situation to get best advice.

For 5 years I have been interested in becoming a independent trader. I am drawn to the flexibility of lifestyle, not having a boss, having geographic independence and so on.

I have read most of the classic books on trading, technical analysis, money management, psychology and so on. However, I have not executed a single trade, ever. From a theoretical experience I'm not a newbie but from a practical experience I am a total newbie.

What do you suggest as a next step in my education/path to becoming a trader? I think I've done enough reading and need to move on to something more practical. Should I sign-up for a training class; or hook-up with a mentor; or start experimenting on my own? I am fairly comfortable with experimenting on my own though I am not sure where to start in terms of developing a trading system. Perhaps the practical experience I lack is what's preventing me from having practical ideas to build into a trading system.

In terms of capital - I have around $300k in savings - yes I can lose all this money without impacting my life. I have read that insufficient capital is a problem for many new traders so am curious whether people think my capital is anywhere near sufficient. I guess it would be necessary for me to also state my goals, and please feel free to tell me my dreams are crazy or unrealistic if you really believe this.