Be the master of your domain

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by cashmoney69, Feb 27, 2006.

1. I'm fairly new to trading and I want to ask this important question:

Do you think its wise to trade only ONE stock for a year or two, and learn everything about it...trends, most active market maker, the ax, and other important factors while losing opportunities in other stocks but in the mean time becoming the master of a certain stock JUST LIKE the market makers who obviously make a nice chunk of change a year.

your thoughts please...

- nate

2. I'm pretty new to scalp trading (2 years) but have fooled around with stocks for over 22 years. One method I tried is doing just what you suggest and it worked as long as I used limit orders and tight stops. The trick would be picking just the right stock. You'd have to determine what your situation and risk tolerance is, maybe get with a deep discount broker to keep commissons to a minimum, and be willing to take small bites at a time to get the feel of things. Maybe avoid real newsy stocks or ones that are real volitile untill you had some time in. And learn how to use RSI (2) amd MACD indicators. And learn to short cause they don't all go UP all the time and shorting keeps you trading on a down day.

3. bitrend

bitrend

You got it. Focus is everything. Know what you are doing. I think a lot of successful traders they are very focused. It's like a professional blackjack gambler, he always plays with blackjack, he never jumps with one type of game then another.

Let me give you real example, I knew very well two stocks, NT and LU, and I never lose a dime when I traded with these two stocks. Unfortunately, I lost everything (all) on NASD stocks which I don't really know about them. You know stock has personality and once you know its personality it's easier to deal with it.

4. Would my strategy work for nyse as well?