Basic Question re API

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Babak, Apr 9, 2003.

1. Babak

Babak

ok I know this may sound silly but what the heck is an API (I know its an acronym) but what is it exactly? what does it do? What is DDE? How do you set it up? How do you use it? etc...

I'm not a software expert and have never programmed but would be interested to find out if there is a way that I can 'automate' a part of my trading.

Thanks in advance.

2. corvus

corvus

API is "Application Programming Interface", and that means "a set of routines, protocols, and tools for building software applications". Basically, an API exposes some functionality that you can use to build something bigger and better on top of. For instance, Windows itself has an API that let's programmers write things like IE or Windows Media Player. In the case of IB, it exposes most of the functionality in IB in a way that lets programmers write applications that use IB in ways that the developers of TWS never intended, ie my simulator (http://www.cicleworks.com/ibrapp.html). :)

DDE stands for "Dynamic Data Exchange", which is just a feature in Windows that lets two running applications exchange data (if the applications themselves are set up to use it). So, IB TWS can pass data to Excel via DDE...it's kind of like an API, but not as full featured or flexible and requires less programming knowledge on the part of the user. You might use it to write a graphing or data-crunching spreadsheet in Excel, but using DDE you don't have to write a bunch of code, you just "link" to TWS using DDE just like using the clipboard (copy-paste). If you are pretty good at using Excel but not too familiar with programming, this is definitely the way to go...

3. Babak

Babak

ok thanks for the basics...now how would one set about learning and putting that stuff into action?

are there some good web resources? books? etc...

again...TIA

4. m_c_a98

m_c_a98