Basic question about sell to cover

Discussion in 'Options' started by NasiWarrior, Mar 26, 2010.

1. I've bought out the money calls on a stock but I would not have enough margin to exercise all the options at the strike price.

My position is speculative - I don't own the underlying.

I've just realised that if I sold these (hopefully) "in the money calls" before they expired to realise the profit; I'd be liable to deliver to the buyer at the strike ...but I can't afford to buy the underlying.....

How can I realise the profit of the options in this situation?

Is there anyway to avert this potential margin call by hedging?

btw: my broker is IB.

PS; this is my first post to the board and my first time trading options. so yes.... I'm a newbie!!!

2. Nasi,

Unless I am misunderstanding something from your post, you are long calls and now they have profits and you can sell them?

There is no reason then that you would be liable to deliver anything to the buyer when you sell your calls. You just sell your calls on the market and get the money for selling the calls and now you have no position.

You are liable for delivering shares if you sold to open options and then were exercised on the options.

JJacksET4

3. Thanks for your reply... Now I understand that I'll just be selling the option and not writing a call to sell.

I also understand that it must be possible to short a call....

But what are the rules for borrowing an option?

4. You don't really "borrow" an option, but instead its a "sell to open." I see what you're saying, though.

My broker used to be OptionsXpress. You needed something like $10k equity to do a straight naked sell to open. If you're selling covered calls, there are no requirements so long as you keep the underlying stock.

If you're selling one option to open, while buying another option to hedge against it (like spreads) then you just need enough cash to cover the difference between the two (i.e. your maximum liability)