Basic Option Question?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Baker200, Nov 1, 2017.

1. Baker200

Baker200

Hey guys so I have found a trading strategy that I think is going to work pretty good, but I have a quick question for you guys... So the other day I got into a trade on demo, and I was right with the direction, but I am still loosing money on demo, even though it keeps going down, which is what I said on the contract... What can cause this? I've heard its cause the Implied Volatility, or the bid and ask price????

And in puts would be appreciated!!!

Thanks guys!

Just to let everyone know I have been doing demo for a couple months, with tons of internet researching just need some help

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. ajacobson

ajacobson

Volatility crush (decline). If you're correct about the trend and incorrect about volatility - you're trade will underperform. Not an issue if you plan to carry into expiration.

3. There are many factors and variables you to have consider if you want to succeed with options trading.
    Implied volatility, and Bid/Ask spreads are definitely two factors you have to consider, as you mentioned.

You have to really know and understand your game or underlying instrument...if you want to succeed trading options on those. Otherwise, those options will be like a cancer eroding your trading account.

Here's another tidbit of wisdom, don't generally buy longer term/far out options...those are mainly for hedgers buying insurance. That game tends to fare better for option sellers/writers.
    If you plan to buy/trade options, do it nearer expiration.

Mazal tov, and May the Farce be with You,

Last edited: Nov 1, 2017
  4. If the ball falls on black 25 times in a row at the roulette, do you bet on red the 26th time? And if 26 is still black, there's clear mommentum so you bet on black?

5. JackRab

JackRab

like @ajacobson said... implied volatility probably had an impact.