Basic Networking Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Hungry4Knowledg, Oct 20, 2003.

1. I'm pretty good with computers, but I'm a total networking newbie. Are there any books or websites that will take you step by step to setting a secure network for a small office. From the book or website, I would need to know:

1. What type of network, cabling, hardware, software, etc... I would need. And what the difference between related things are (for example, what's the difference between a router and a hub and which would I need).

2. How to setup a file server for storing and sharing files on the network (the computers will use software installed on each computer, but the work done on each computer will be saved on the file server and made available to everyone on the network).

3. How to connect up to 20 computers to that file server (and to each other), including what IP, Gateway, Subnet masks, etc are and what numbers to use for each.

4. How to connect the network to the Internet for basic e-mail & surfing in the safest way possible.

2. From my limited knowledge of networking, I'm guessing I would use a 10baseT Ethernet network connected with Cat 5 cabling. Each computer would need a 10baseT NIC installed to connect to the Cat 5 cable. The Cat 5 cable would run from each computer to a 20-port hub or router (not sure of the difference) sitting next to the file server. A single Cat 5 cable would run from the router or hub to the NIC on the back of the file server. Between the file server and the Internet would sit some kind of firewall. The file server would need something like Windows Server 2003 and each computer would need Win2000 or WinXP. That's about the extent of my networking knowledge. I have no idea what subnet masks, gateways, dns, etc. are or how to use/assign them to each computer. I also don't have any idea what type of equipment to use for the network (I've heard CISCO is good, but very expensive).

3. Banjo

Banjo

4. Banjo,