Basic, I Know But Need Help On Bull/ Bear Spreads

Discussion in 'Options' started by paul19may, Dec 1, 2010.

1. paul19may

paul19may

Just beginning with options so if this is too basic for this forum, please bear with me. (I have been trading stocks for 20 years or so, but am about 6 months new to options.)

A 2 part question both to do with basic bull/ bear spreads:
    (1) What's the (dis)/advantage to a debit spread when the +/- diagram is the same for a credit spread (ie why pay when I can be paid?)
    (2) Everything I read (so this is the theory side) suggests 1x ITM, 1x OTM either side the current market value (puts/ calls depending upon whatthe spread is), yet the practice I have noticed on several places seems to be 2x OTM (different strikes) which makes a bit more sense to me as the underlying has to move to get inside the spread although the premium earned (credit) would be less than 1x ITM, 1x OTM

If this is more the sort of thing for another forum, appreciate you directing me to that.

Otherwise, appreciate your erudite responses to such a basic, yet confounding, question.

2. spindr0

spindr0

1) If the spreads have equal P&L potential, then the main difference is assignment and commissions.

For example, if you buy a spread and you're 100% wrong, you lose the premium. Done.

But if you sold the equivalent spread and you're assigned then you have to deal with closing the subsequent equity position and you incur extra commission(s) and slippage. There's also a possible equity risk if you're long or short assigned stock on Monday morning and the long leg of the spread expired.

If you sold the spread initially and you're 100% right, it expires worthless and you're done. No more commissions.

2) Sorry, don't understand this question

3. spindr0: I think he means, assuming IWM is 74.5, buying a 74 call and selling a 75 call, as opposed to buying a 75 call and selling a 76 call.