BARON; 1st Amendment Rights

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by axehawk, Mar 27, 2002.

1. axehawk

axehawk

"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances."

How is it that firms like ETG and Hold Brothers can just threaten this site and suffocate our freedom of speech? This is a goddamn outrage! :mad:

If they don't like the truth (or non-truth) then too bad! It is our God-given right to organize and speak freely.

Baron, I know you don't want to get tangled up financially in court, but its time to tell these hustlers to f*#$ off!

I am not a constitutional lawyer. Feel free to tell me if I'm way out of line, or if I'm the only one that feels this way.

AXE:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

2. tntneo

tntneo Moderator

axehawk, freedom of speech means you (I mean yourself) can start a web site and say whatever you want.
    It does not mean that a website, magazine or similar must let you write whatever you want to.
    And yes, the other side of free speech is that anyone can sue you too for what you say. So you are free to say but liable at the same time if a court decides so.

EliteTrader's policy is very very very clear when you sign in and the detailed policy as well. I think too many members just click 'I agree' and don't care. It's silly and not responsible. Baron and moderators do take it very seriously on the other hand.

3. Axe,

I do believe in freedom of speech but this should not be a forum for libel/defamatory statements.

I don't know about you but I dont want to read a bunch of garbage and false statements. It is a waste of my time trying to weed out the true posts from the defamatory posts.