BAR BY BAR -- Al Brooks

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by Swan Noir, Jun 24, 2009.

1. I am a new trader and have just started a very interesting book -- READING PRICE CHARTS BAR BY BAR by Al Brooks. I Know instinctively that this guy is for real. I also know that with all my determination I am not yet for real.

My immediate problem is that the book is written for someone with more chart knowledge than I currently posses -- particularly candle charts and patterns. I have studied five of Joe Ross' books with great interest yet feel that I need to have a grounding in signal bars, reversal bars and the like in order to have the type of entries I want.

Can anyone suggest a book I can read on candle bars and patterns that is one step less advanced than Al Brooks' book.

BTW, I have no issue with Brooks. Right on the front cover in a sub title he makes it clear that he is writing for the serious trader.

Now, a bit about how I want to go forward: The plan is to use price action with very few technical additions to day trade primarily Euro/Dollar. I hope to master a set-up or two or three early on and trade two contracts off a five-minute chart with stops of eight ticks or less.

I hope to cash the first contract with a limit order four or five ticks in the money and swing trade the second contract. If I can hold on through the trade back I want to use natural support as my going forward stop. I hope to catch a long ride and am willing to risk a fair bit of paper profit to get my seat.

But I am not willing to risk much or for very long in a trade that is not moving my way. The plan is to trade out ASAP if the trade drags and I'm stuck wishin' and hopin' to cash contract one. The thinking is if the trade can't produce four ticks pretty damn quick I want out. I want to trade out of both contracts immediately.

OK ... all of this sounds lovely on paper ... lol. If you have come this far, please do three things for me: