Bad news and market hardly budges....am I missing something?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TinGull, Oct 26, 2006.

1. TinGull

TinGull

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to the marketplace (little over a year) and was wondering from you guys who have experience through the years....is there any forshadowing from a market that doesn't seem to budge when there's bad news? Like today...I realize we had a selloff when the housing info came out, but we're right back up for the most part now.

Just curious if something like this had happened in the past. I can't seem to figure out a good way to search the goog for that info.

Thanks!!!!!!

2. don't short it...

3. alorainc

alorainc

Well, from what i've read about others experiences, and what i've seen myself...when bad news hits, but the market doesn't fall... this usually means the market is VERY strong.

What is usually means is the market is saying "I don't give a damn about the news, i'm going higher!"

The trick is to determine whether the bad news really is bad, or if it was just a splinter of bad news amid an oak tree of solid positive news.

Remember...the fed DID just decide not to raise the interest rate... and since you never fight the tape, or the fed, i wouldn't expect the market to fall in the next week or so unless some more very bad info comes out.

4. With the markets at highs its best to buy any dips.

All bad news is just part of the soft landing and is already discounted into prices.

5. mtwokay

mtwokay

well i really don't care which way the market goes

<B>BUT I WISH IT WOULD JUST MOOOOOOVE.

ARRRRRRRRRRRRGH!!!!!!!!!!</B>

6. nassau

nassau

the market right now as many times in the past is being artificially supported..
    all you have to do is look at the major holders of the stocks on the nyse or nasdaq ..
    you have barclay's uk holdings...(England)
    fidelity ? (USA)
    Goldman? Israel
    running the market long..
    especially right now..the mother country.