backtesting your own formulas in esignal

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by riskaverse305, Jul 12, 2005.

1. riskaverse305

riskaverse305 Guest

so i've got my little indicator formula that sits at the bottom of a chart in esignal... but how the heck do u backtest this thing? the esignal formula wizard doesn't show any studies other than the ones in the builtin folder... arrrrgh :confused:

is there any way to backtest my indicator or do i have to get another program? (or spend 10 years in excell doing this manually...)

thanks again

2. You need to study the EFS programming language. Unless you are already a programmer, it's going to be a loooooonnnggg road. Tradestation Easy language is, IMHO, infinitely easier to code for a complete novice.

3. riskaverse305

riskaverse305 Guest

thats just the thing tho, where the hell is the efs documentation? i'd learn it if i could find more than bits and pieces of it on esignal's education website...

4. Go to esignalcentral.com

In the bulliten board section there is a section titled Backtesting.

The first post has a series of links to the esignal knowledgebase, that cover backtesying - the artles will will walk you through the process.

Goodluck.

Runningbear

5. thats my problem too. I started trading with esignal but cant get the programming of the efs formulas. They have no training for learning the efs. They have bits and pieces of literature all over . They give tons of courses on advanced get and pitching there software but none on making formulas. When i ask why they don't give a seminar or something they responded by there is no demand for it. Go figure. I really need to change to tradestation !!

6. JayF_eSignal

JayF_eSignal eSignal

First off, thank you for your interest in backtesting your formulas with eSignal. We do house all of our EFS documentation in one location called the EFS KnowledgeBase.