Backtesting: Wealthlab, tradestation or Investor RT

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by traderob, Jan 8, 2004.

1. traderob

traderob

Hi,
    What are your thoughts on the best sftware for backtesting?
    Important point:

Ease of use.
    I am not a programmer and found tradestation complex in this regard. Wealthlab I couldn't figure at all but that was about a year ago, maybe it is easier now?.
    Anyone backtest using Investor Rt?

Any other products good for backtesting?

2. opw

opw

I am not a big believer in backtesting (anymore) but I have used Investor RT for testing some simple concepts.
    It is pretty easy to set up a system and backtest it in IRT. Even for non-programmers. Because you build rules with standard dialogs and popups.You can then test these buy and sell rules against one or a batch of symbols.

The reports are nothing like Tradestation or Wealthlab, but will suffice for most.

I believe esignal also has backtesting capabilities. I believe it uses javascript, so you need to have some basic programming skills.

3. traderob

traderob

Thanks,
    I am going to take a new trial of both wealthlab and Investor. I went off backtesting too, but occasionally like to check out ideas, so I am back to backtes...

4. Bob111

Bob111

choosing tool is depend on what you trying to do. if you want to do backtesting on large portfolio of stocks-there is no substitute for wealth lab. and it a bit more complicated(read-have more capabilities) than any of mentioned above.
    if MA crossover work for you-you don even need all of those)))
    http://www.marketscreen.com/TTTC/tt...5&sort=-5&trend=b&mode=c&zsource=bs&bestsig=1

5. traderob

traderob

Bob,
    I need something as advanced as possible but failry easy to use. I thought tradestation was hard to use unless you used the canned indicators. Metastock was easy but far too limited.

6. I love wealth-lab..

can't trade without it..

7. traderob

traderob

8. traderob

traderob

Thanks Vegasoul,