Backtesting software

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by dandxg, Nov 9, 2006.

1. I have a real specific question, and yes I have used search and read many threads.

What backtesting software is user friendly and gives you full functionality for the trial period? Any of them?

I download Amibroker, went to close and it pops a window saying in demo nothing is saved. What a waste of my time? Seriously don't tease me with a 30 day trial and then pull the pug at the end of every session. Cmon that's cheesy. That's like when software companies says free trial, then you get there and they say sorry can't use that function until you register. Which is a deceptive way of saying purchasing it outright. Ok enough of my whinning :p

2. keithm

keithm

I have been using AmiBroker for approx 3 years. So long that I had forgotten its inability to save results in the Demo version. That's too bad for both you and AmiBroker if you decide not to buy it for that reason.

AmiBroker is a Fantastic product and worth many times its price. It takes a bit of time to learn how to use, especially for non programmers. With some effort on your part, you should be able to back test almost any strategy you can think of.

Product support is excellent, as is a very helpfull user community.

3. Amibroker's free trial is at the generous end of the spectrum, and they receive high praise consistently. Maybe they should not be written off so quickly.

Regarding your question, Stratasearch (www.stratasearch.com) has a fully functional trial version.