Backtesting exit points for discretionary trades

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Spearhead, Dec 24, 2010.

1. Not sure if I'm describing it properly, but I am mainly a discretionary trader, but do look for certain technical setups as part of my decision-making process for entering a stock. I'm less decisive when it comes to exiting my positions. Is there software out there that will let me compute the optimal exit strategy (%change in price, time-based, etc.) if I manually enter all my trades in the past couple of years?

-S

2. Yeah i'm also looking for something like this. I figured I'd need a full customizable trade entry/exit software that runs through IB's api.

3. backtesting exits on your discretionary trades is just one of many features. trades are overlayed on charts, and there are a myriad of helpful stats - time of day, by volume, MAE/MFE, etc. $50/mo. Manual uploding is not necessary as IB and many others supported for uploading trades.

(no affiliation, just a client)

https://www.stocktickr.com/report/pro/backtester.html

4. ronblack

ronblack

The optimal exit strategy for any arbitrary setup in the case of loss is based on the percentage of account at stake.

The optimal startegy for exit with profit depends on particular market conditions, like s&r and fibo levels, specific patterns, etc. and I don't see at all how backtesting can help you with that.