Backtesting - Execution Concerns

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by AllenTrader, May 4, 2004.

1. I've been using a "trainer" trading platform and I have serious concern over the validity of my trades actually occuring in the real world. I've been paper trading anywhere from 5 to 20 ES contracts and usually take 1%-5% daily whereupon I "hang up my hat" for the day and start over to seek further validation of the strategy figuring with real money I'd be out at anything over 2% (pigs get slaughtered). I've spoke with the firm I'm using and they say that once 2/3 of the available volume is consumed my paper trades are executed. I'm new to futures trading and have been in the securities business 8 plus years. I stepped up and traded 100 and 250 ES lots figuring the increased volume on my part would help illuminate potential execution problems and create a more realistic execution. Daily returns fell somewhat, moreso in faster markets. How are fills determined with the various backtesting strategies out there? Are they just based on price, available volume, percentage of volume? Does anyone not affiliated with a provider have the answer?

Allen

2. ...you're testing with limit orders, I assume? IMO the most conservative thing to do is to BT with market orders and use your historical slippage. If in actual trading you do better with limit orders, fine.

3. and you will a have a more conservative view of potential results.

Limit orders may not be filled even for small size even when placed well in advance.

I have worked with a firm that automates and trades a large number of systems and have come to the following conclusion: