Backtesting & curve fitting

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by eusdaiki, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Hi,

I started learning to trade with algorithms a few months ago. Ever since I've been reading a lot around and I've come to understand that curve fitting is not a good idea, and that back-testing results that start getting too close to perfect on a particular symbol or range of time are most likely showing signs of curve fitting.

So I'm wondering, what's considered to be a good back-testing result? Is it best to have a system that scores regularly against many symbols, with decent % of profitable trades and a healthy difference between trades that win and lose than one that scores very high on a few symbols only?

2. jcl

jcl

Curve fitting is not the problem, because that's the very purpose of a strategy optimization. The problem is _overfitting_ - meaning that the strategy parameters are not adapted to the general characteristics of the price curve, but to curve details that are not repeated in future trading.

Therefore, backtest results are meaningless if you don't know to which degree the optimization has overfit the parameters. Using few parameters reduces the danger of overfitting, but does not eliminate it.

The usual way to find out if the strategy is overfit or not is an out-of-sample test, especially with the WFO method.

3. Thank you for your reply, I clarifies my previous missconception.

Regarding WFO, I did some reading on it and it is basically continuously optimizing on discrete time increments. E.g. optimizing every hour to include the previous hour's data in the optimization to run with those paramethers for the next hour... once the hour is over, rinse and repeat... ?

4. alexvnew

alexvnew

Like drinking and driving is not the problem - the problem is drinking too much and driving. Right?

5. jcl

jcl