Avoiding Whipsaws

Discussion in 'Trading' started by SStrong, Apr 7, 2004.

1. SStrong

SStrong

Avoiding Whipsaws
    Hello board, newbie here and somewhat of an amateur. More of a swing trader then day trader, wanted to get the boards opinion on the following.

I've been backtesting this system and on the small to larger cap stocks ($5 up) this has been working suprisingly well.

Whats everyones take on this three crossover system? Its simple but it has been predicting a bullish trend reversal...

Look forward to your replies

2. Jonas

Jonas

It's a trend following system, so imho that's always good... Basically you just need to act upon the signals, without letting your emotions play out. I also use a trend following system with two shorter MA's, ofcourse this gives more whipsaws but it enables me to enter a position very early in a new trend or a big move.

3. SStrong

SStrong

if you don't mind me asking what two MA's do you use?

4. I'm not sure, but it sounds like you are referring to Elder's system. Are you? I think you'll find that most M/A type cross-over systems simply don't work unless the market trends really well. For example, a tech stock might jump around depending on how much coffee traders consume prior to opening bell, but a REIT might stay more or less on course until there is a shift in interest rates. Pick your trading vehicle wisely.

Generally speaking M/A systems just don't work. There are millions of examples to show that I'm wrong, so don't jump down my throat, I'm talking in general. As your original post pointed out, there are too many whipsaws to make it really worth your time.