Average profit % / month for PRO traders

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by anesthesiaman, Jul 28, 2010.

1. Hello all,

I have been trading options since 1999 - before med school. But I only traded a little since my focus was on medicine. Fortunately I was able to learn to trade while in school.

Throughout the years of schooling and trading very little here and there because of studying and time commitments - I still kept up with the markets.

Now, 2 yrs out of residency on May 25, 2010, I decided to take my 1 month PaperMoney futures account LIVE. I have never traded futures before but always knew about the mechanics of trading.

(PS - In reference to other threads I see here in this forum, I average up and down just depending on the price action I see, also keep a journal, 1-2% rule, 6% rule, avoid overtrading, etc. blah blah)

Starting with a 49k account, I was able to do 6.7% since May 25 - two months ago. I can do 2-3% / month pretty easily I think.

I just want to compare my results since I'm new to the world of semi-pro trading. (Yes, I'd eventually like to go pro and do anesthesiolgoy part time but I need to use a 1 million trading account and make and easy 2-3% / month to support my lifestyle).

I will be doubling my account at the end of the month to 100k and continue to trade the way I do - price action.

Can ANY of the pro traders here - those who trade for a living as their only income - tell me what is the average profit % / month for pro traders? For ex: 2%/ month? 6%? 10%?