Average day of a pro options trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by DarkProtoman, Apr 1, 2009.

1. What's the average day of a professional options trader (working for a prop firm, hedge fund, or bank)?

I suppose for the first hour and half you do research, then you discuss strategy w/ your coworkers for the next hour and a half, then you trade until the markets close, then you review your trades and make strategy adjustments.

And is the job description of a professional options trader this: continuously quote bids and asks, develop and implement automated trading algorithms?

2. I'm not a pro options trader, but I work for a pro options trading group. Most of what you say sounds right, except we end up starting work 2 hours before the open. Trading happens mostly automatic, but there's always one or two traders keeping an eye on the system. Discussions are had with coworkers whenever they think there's a problem with the model or the system.

Group generally breaks down into development team, quantitative team, and a trading team. Traders don't actually do all that much, except direct the other two groups to their satisfaction. Quantitative team has the most input on trading, and the developers are just slaves who hope for a bonus at the end of the year after all their dicking around with the exchanges and their shitty documentation or the anger of traders.

3. MTE

MTE

It's hard to average it. What a market maker does may be completely different from what a hedge fund trader does, as their goals may not be the same.

The description you post sounds like a market maker job.

4. cvds16

cvds16