Automating Divergence signals

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by stevenpaul, Dec 4, 2009.

1. I am new to automating systems and was wondering if anyone could share any tips on integrating "divergence" into an automated trading methodology. The appearance of divergence may not be sufficient to warrant a trade for me, but it is one of the factors I like to take into consideration. Everything else I use is easy enough to program, but I'm stumped on how to go about getting a computer to notice what leaps off the screen as divergence between price and an indicator, or between two given indicators, etc.

Any food for thought would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Steven

2. Corey

Corey

I typically use a short term simple moving average to identify highs and lows of a time-series.

For example, use a 5-period simple moving average, and anytime the time-series is above the average, keep track of the highest point. When it is below, keep track of the lowest points. This will allow you to identify short-term highs and lows and be 'time' agnostic (aka, doesn't have to be higher that last 5 and higher than next 5 to be considered a 'high').

Note that by changing the period frame of the moving average, you can change your sensitivity to what you call highs and lows.

Do this for both price and your indicator. If the last high prices are increasing, but the last indicator highs are decreasing, you have a divergence. If the last high prices are decreasing, but your indicator highs are increasing, you have a divergence.

If you want to make it more rigorous, you can ensure that the highs of the price series and highs of the indicator series are happening 'near' the same time.

3. We'll assume we're talking about price, but this applies to indicator values as well.
    Mark your starting price at time T0.
    Now keep track of the maximum/minimum value it achieves.