Automated recognition of price trends (my software)

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mglomba, Nov 16, 2011.

1. mglomba

mglomba

Hi,

I have been a passive reader of Elite Trader forums to date, but this time I feel I may have something worth contribution.

I am a software engineer but also interested in practical data mining of financial time series (did MSc and dropped out of PhD in this subject). I have became tired of analyzing individual charts and reports looking for mid-term investment opportunities and last evening finally decided to create a simple service. I have had this idea in my mind for a while so after some time of coding I have built www.strongtrends.com

The service automatically analyzes price trends of multiple financial instruments on daily basis, allowing you to discover strong and stable price movements that might become interesting investment opportunities. Trend stability metric is calculated for each financial instrument which is then classified as stable, crazy or chaos - a greater value means a stronger, more stable trend. Currently major currency pairs and commodity futures are supported.

Hope you will find it useful too, for me the selection process is now just easier.

Regards,
    Michal

2. hey dude
    so where do you get your data from?

3. mglomba

mglomba

The stability metric (range: 0.0-1.0) is calculated by myself, same with classification into "stable", "crazy" and "chaos" (these classes just came out from my observations). The "chart" link leads you to the actual chart, so you can easily verify whether the recognized trend is strong and fine enough for you to jump in.

4. Our friend we appreciate your work and your effort. However, keep in mind that nobody (almost) can trade and profit from indicators like "stable", "crazy" and "chaos" generated from a black-box of some kind.

Do you know that a lot of people make money from chaos?